Oh, the places you will go…

I have started this blog in response to the Slice of Life Daily Challenge.  In January, I started my own commitment to pursue my life long goal to be a writer.  I have always wanted to be a writer.  I wrote stories about my stuffed animals when I was little. I had my greatest accomplishment in second grade, a published Young Author’s book.  I was hooked from that experience on. I majored in English, but snuck in a concentration in Writing.  I got my Masters in Teaching, but snuck in writing with my Master’s Project on First Grader’s Concepts of Writing.  After I got married, in between finding a job, I did a little bit of freelance writing for the business section of the local newspaper. I have ALWAYs dabbled in writing.  Yet, I have never actively pursued it.  In January, I decided that if I wanted to be a writer, I needed to write.  So I began writing.  I started with a personal journal with the goal of 50,000 words in the one month.  In February, I started a professional journal, reflecting in over 30,000 words in the one month on my professional practice- my classroom, my students, my instruction.  This month, I told myself that I needed to make my writing more published.  This challenge seemed the perfec place to start.  I can’t promise you anything.  My life, my writing, my thoughts are likely to be jumbled and insignificant.  But I start on anyway because “It’s never too late to be what you might have been.”

Leave a Reply

